callinan draws pipeline wildcard


callinan draws pipeline wildcard

Merewether’s Ryan Callinan has scored a wildcard at the Billabong Pipe Masters, the final event on the men’s world championship tour.
It’s a dream come true for Callinan and he will face-off with American Dane Reynolds in his opening heat.
‘I’m super stoked. This is the best opportunity I’ve ever had I think,’ Callinan said from Hawaii.
Callinan has surfed the world famous break on many occasions before but is looking forward to the chance of having the line-up free of a crowd.
‘I have surfed Pipe a bunch of times before, but it’s always been super crowded, so it will be good to surf with only one other guy out there.’
Callinan knows his opponent well but has never faced off against him before but backs his chances.
‘I have never surfed against Dane before, so it will be exciting.’ he said.
Former world tour surfer Paul Parkes, who coaches and shapes boards for Callinan, said it was a huge opportunity for the young goofy-footer.
‘He’s got a great chance up against Dane first up which is not a bad thing.’
‘I don’t think Dane’s the best Pipe surfer.’
‘If it’s good backdoor Pipe, Ryan might struggle, but if it’s just standard pipe, with good lefts, I think he’ll wipe the floor with Dane.’
‘Dane had a shocker out their last year, so I think Ryan’s got a really good shot at it.’
The final event should be a memorable one with a showdown for the ASP World Title between Mick Fanning (AUS), 32, and Kelly Slater (USA), 41.
In addition to the battle for the throne, Pipeline will also determine the final qualification slots for the elite 2014 ASP World Championship Tour.
Entering the Billabong Pipe Masters, Fanning holds a commanding lead on a potential third ASP World Title. In order for Slater to surpass Fanning for an unprecedented 12th crown, he must win the event. Nothing less than a victory for Slater will see him pass Fanning on the rankings. If Slater does run the road to victory at Pipeline, Fanning must finish 3rd or better to claim the title for himself.
While this year’s battle for the crown is now between two contenders, several surfers’ qualification hopes for next season’s elite hang in the balance of a performance at Pipeline. There are currently five surfers to watch sitting outside of the bubble for 2014 qualification who are all possibilities of securing a Top 34 berth for next season pending their result at the Billabong Pipe Masters. The list includes Miguel Pupo (BRA), 22,Patrick Gudauskas (USA), 28, Damien Hobgood (USA), 34, Dusty Payne (HAW), 24, and Yadin Nicol (AUS), 27. All of these surfers could qualify through either the ASP WCT or the ASP World Ranking and their minimum results needed could change depending on surfers in the Top 22 on the ASP WCT or Top 10 on the ASP World Ranking. Currently, the minimum cutoff for the ASP WCT is 14,750 points. It is important to note that these scenarios rely on surfers who are currently holding a requalification spot making no changes in their ASP WCT or World Ranking.
Miguel Pupo (BRA), 22, No. 24 on the ASP WCT, currently needs a 13th place to meet the current minimum cutoff.
Patrick Gudauskas (USA), 28, current No. 27 on the ASP WCT, needs a Quarterfinals result to finish within the ASP Top 22, while a 9th could qualify him through the World Ranking.
Damien Hobgood (USA), 34, No. 28 on the ASP WCT, currently needs a 5th or better to qualify in the Top 22, but a 9th or better could qualify him through the World Ranking.
Callinan’s opponent, Payne (HAW), 24, is currently No 34 on the ASP WCT, who suffered an injury plagued season, could still qualify on the ASP WCT, but needs to win the Billabong Pipe Masters to do so. Payne could qualify through the ASP World Ranking, but currently needs a minimum 9th place result.
Yadin Nicol (AUS), 28, current ASP World No. 32, could qualify via a 2nd place finish or better at the Billabong Pipe Masters.
Please note that these temporary results are based off of one surfer’s minimum results with no additional shift in the rankings.
When competition commences, up first will be Patrick Gudauskas (USA), 28, and Ezekiel Lau (HAW), 20, in the opening heat of competition.

Heat 1: Patrick Gudauskas (USA) vs. Ezekiel Lau (HAW)
Heat 2: Damien Hobgood (USA) vs. Joel Centeio (HAW)
Heat 3: Alejo Muniz (BRA) vs. Marcus Hickman (HAW)
Heat 4: Kieren Perrow (AUS) vs. Kaimana Jaquias (HAW)
Heat 5: Yadin Nicol (AUS) vs. Kahea Hart (HAW)
Heat 6: Raoni Monteiro (BRA) vs. Bruce Irons (HAW)
Heat 7: Dusty Payne (HAW) vs. Reef McIntosh (HAW)
Heat 8: Jadson Andre (BRA) vs. Olamana Eleogram (HAW)
Heat 9: Mitch Crews (AUS) vs. Shane Dorian (HAW)
Heat 10: Granger Larsen (HAW) vs. Kalani Chapman (HAW)
Heat 11: Tanner Gudauskas (USA) vs. Ricardo dos Santos (BRA)
Heat 12: Dane Reynolds (USA) vs. Ryan Callinan (AUS)

Tell your friends!
Tweet about this on Twitter
Share on Tumblr
Share on Facebook
Grant Sproule

Grant Sproule has worked in Newspapers and Surf Media for 22 years and is also graphic designer and photographer. His eye for detail and deep passion for surfing has led him to develop one of Australia's leading Surf Magazines. Grant Started shooting surfing at a young age and is now regarded as an industry pro.

No Comments

Post A Comment